BOOK REVIEWS / INTERVIEWS

BOOK REVIEWS

‘The Powerful Proactive Parent’s Guide to Present Parenting’

The Powerful Proactive Parent’s Guide to Present Parenting

Emma Grant is proud to present her incredible, completely fool proof guide to effective, happy, and stress-free parenting. Carefully constructed after 16 years of experience in childminding, parent coaching, and hypnotherapy, Emma Grant gently but firmly takes her readers’ hands and sheds light on the reality of their parenting—and how some subtle yet pivotal shifts in mindset, behaviour, and intention can ultimately lead to a happy child (and happy parent!).

Reassuring and confident, Emma takes the ‘hustle culture’ hubbub encouraged in today’s society and instead lauds presence, warmth, and mindfulness during parenting. Her insight and advice is simple yet incredibly impactful, and guarantees parents a drastic change in their household for the better with its implementation. ‘The Powerful Proactive Parent’s Guide to Present Parenting’ is about to become the holy scripture for every single parent out there as a result of its wisdom, power, and impact.

The Powerful Proactive Parent’s Guide to Present Parenting’has been rated 5 stars by those who have purchased the book. Some of the book’s review comments include the following: 

‘The book didn’t disappoint. It gives easy to understand advice on how to coach the behaviour we want rather than managing it through discipline. I found it invaluable in helping me to avoid misunderstandings and we’ve all benefitted from following the exercises that help us to be more mindful and live in the moment.’ – Suz F.

‘The Confident Parent’s Guide’

The Confident Parent’s Guide to Raising a Happy, Healthy & Successful Child

The Confident Parent’s Guide to Raising a Happy, Healthy & Successful Child

Emma Grant is proud to present the Kindle edition of her second incredible parenting guide, this time focusing on breeding a sense of complete confidence in your parenting. Wise yet relatable, firm yet fair, Emma Grant offers you a second opportunity to rewrite your parenting narrative, and to learn how focusing on yourself can (paradoxically!) lead to more enhanced focus on your parenting, and ultimately become the parent you (and your kids!) want you to be—all through developing your own confidence in what you do!

Using Emma Grant’s very own ‘U URSELF Routine’ as your tool to be more mindful, relaxed, and well-rounded in your approach to raising children, ‘The Confident Parent’s Guide to Raising a Happy, Healthy & Successful Child’ is about to become your new saviour when it comes to the art of parenting. Learn how to overcome ‘Busyness Disease’, turn down tasks that are only going to waste your time and drain your energy, and, above all, master that ‘U URSELF Routine’, a fool proof tool that has become a central element of all of Emma’s clients!

The Confident Parent’s Guide to Raising a Happy, Healthy & Successful Child’ is available worldwide from all good book retailers as well as Kindle and Audio versions from Amazon, Audible and ITunes.

‘The Confident Parent’s Guide to Raising a Happy, Healthy & Successful Child’ has been rated 5 stars by those who have purchased the book. Some of the book’s review comments include the following: 

‘This is a must read for parents. Practical, common-sense advice and real life examples from a parenting expert. You’ll feel like you’ve just spent a weekend at a parenting seminar!’ – Mary Swan-Bell

‘Emma’s thoughtful and confident approach is so supportive—like a hug in a book… Ideal for parents with kids of any age, and a great reference whenever you fall off the confident parent wagon.’ – Sarah L

‘This book provides practical advice and level-headed reassurance. This book does indeed give confidence to any parent to help raise a happy, healthy and successful child!’ – Nicola A

Top reviews from United Kingdom

Sarah L

5.0 out of 5 stars  Great reminder that we are doing ok!

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 3 July 2020

Verified Purchase

I ordered my copy of this book because I felt at my wits end during lockdown. My kids had gone feral, homeschooling was a distant memory and I was more exhausted than ever. Then I picked up this book, and it reminded me that not only this was a unique situation, but I had forgotten some of the basics. The U URSELF routine is inspired and really works. I especially found the guilt list therapeutic, as a mum who thought she had dealt with the guilt, the list was long by the time I finished!
Emma’s thoughtful and confident approach is so supportive – like a hug in a book. And ideal for parents with kids of any age, and a great reference whenever you fall off the confident parent wagon.

elizabeth

5.0 out of 5 stars ‘Carve the path for your child to walk or tread the hot coal’s that follow, it’s up to you.’

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 1 May 2020

Verified Purchase

If you are a parent who is struggling with the quarantine, you need to buy this book. If you’re a parent who thinks you have it all sussed, you need to buy this book. If you have kids, you need to buy this book!
I tend to stay away from ‘self help’ type books, especially of the parenting variety, because every child and parent is different and I’ve always felt it would be impossible to write a book that fits every family. This book proved me wrong! Rather than the normal judgmental tone from parenting books that resound with a matilda-esque ‘I’m right and you’re wrong, I’m big and you’re small’, this is written with so much love and understanding that it feels like a chat with your bestie over a cup of tea. Except your bestie also happens to be an expert on raising confident happy kids.

As a mum with ADHD, routine is something I’ve struggled with since day one. This book has helped me to understand the importance, not only of creating structure for my little ones but also of making time for myself, for fun and for our family. This is a game changer for me. Highly recommended!

B Campbell

5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth a read

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 3 September 2020

Verified Purchase

Bought this book during lockdown for my son and daughter in law. I knew they were finding home schooling stressful, with the older child not wanting to do her set tasks. I thought the book might reassure them and give them confidence in how they were dealing with the difficult situations. I read it before I gave it to them and found it full of helpful information and tips. It makes for easy reading, giving sound and practical advice, and different scenarios that they could relate to.
Wish this had been around when raising my own child. Parenting doesn’t come with a manual and can be overwhelming. This book is perfect for new parents or anyone wondering if they’re doing the best they can for their child.

mand1e

5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Read

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 9 June 2020

Verified Purchase

I love this book! As a registered Childminder I have found this book so useful for my business. It has so much great information and tips to help me give the most to the children that I mind. I love the way that this book is set out in an easy to read form. I will definitely be purchasing the second book from this author which I am sure will be just as fantastic as this one.

Jo

5.0 out of 5 stars Very ‘complete’ parenting book. Not patronising or over complicated.

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 8 August 2020

Verified Purchase

This book is great.
It not only focuses on how we can help our children but on how we can have a better relationship with them and enjoy our time together as this is crucial to the development of our kids.
One of the things I really like about the book is that it explains concepts using examples and different scenarios which definitely makes you feel more confident in trying some or all of the advice. Emma also explains why parents need to have their own time and how important this is to be able to raise our children.

Lisa

5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing parenting techniques to help build inseparable bonds with your children.

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 9 September 2020

Verified Purchase

I’m a mother of three with a range of 10 years between my youngest and oldest. I sometimes wonder if i’m doing right by my eldest and ensuring i give the same love and attention to my youngest i did with the others. Emma’s book has helped me realise that I can do all this and still find time for myself. There is some amazing advice on how to build the loving relationships that all mothers want with their children, whilst keeping the discipline and respect of your child.

I am looking forward to receiving my copy of Emma’s second book!

Eliza Jodlowska

5.0 out of 5 stars Wish to have red it sooner!

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 7 January 2021

Verified Purchase

The book is a brilliant full of advices parenting guide. Unlike others it answers to all my questions in one place. Each page has practical ideas how to plan and live a happy life with ourself and children as a family. During reading I have implemented few changes that has taken away struggle with a bed time and get rid of my guilt feeling when having Me time. The book is easy to read and since you start you can’t put it down! I recommended it to all parents I wish I red it sooner but glad I have it later than never.

nicola a

5.0 out of 5 stars I highly recommend this book….brilliant!

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 2 September 2020

Verified Purchase

As a parent of 3 children and a registered childminder I found this book brilliant. It is practical and inspiring and I would highly recommend to family, friends and parents of the children in my care. The book provides practical advice and level- headed reassurance. It has so much helpful information. This book does indeed give confidence to any parent to help raise a happy, healthy and successful child……EXCELLENT!!

kevin

5.0 out of 5 stars What a brilliant read 5 stars

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 23 May 2021

Verified Purchase

Wonderful book a must for anyone having children

gill

5.0 out of 5 stars A Sensible and achievable set of guidelines for raising your child

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 7 October 2020

I loved the author’s first book and so was keen to read her further suggestions. It wasn’t a disappointment. Straightforward, manageable exercises and pointers to help you navigate the tricky waters of raising happy kids in the modern world.

Stacey

5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn’t put it down!!!

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 11 September 2020

This book has helped me in ways I never knew! Has made me look at things in a different way, found it very useful can’t wait to read the 2nd book now


georgina1274

5.0 out of 5 stars Great advice about parenting and being confident!

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 3 September 2020

I think every Mum or Dad can feel doubt, and there are so many books it is confusing. What I liked about this book is that it feels real and practical, it actually made me feel so uplifted and positive. A great bible to dip in and out of, or absorb cover to cover. Highly recommended if you want happy and confident children, which we all do don’t we?

Suz F

5.0 out of 5 stars A great read!

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 31 August 2020

Verified Purchase

Every parent I know needs to read this thought-provoking and inspiring book! The ideas, explanations and strategies that Emma outlines in this book ‘make sense’ and by giving such excellent examples and ‘eureka’ moments the book will make any parent reading it have the confidence and desire to try out all its practical tips and solutions.
If you have kids of any age this book is a must read.

kim hughes

5.0 out of 5 stars Great read!

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 18 August 2020

Verified Purchase

As a first time parent you question each option and always find time to critique yourself! This book gives helpful insight into how to create balance and understanding parenting the right way for yourself and child!

Full of tools and support to create strong bonds and relationships with your child!

K. Turner

4.0 out of 5 stars Introduction to Unconditional Parenting Concepts

Reviewed in the United States on 11 September 2020

Verified Purchase

The Confident Parent’s Guide to Raising a Happy, Healthy, and Successful Child by Emma Grant explores the topic of unconditional parenting from the perspective of understanding that misbehavior is actually an indicator of an underlying issue with children. The book is organized around implementing routines for children to minimize the likelihood that one of those underlying issues will crop up and, if one does, to make it easier for the parent to identify and address. 

While the concept of unconditional parenting is one that I wholeheartedly believe in, there were a few areas that I personally disagreed with in this book from a pure unconditional parenting perspective. I also found myself wanting the author to go into a little more depth with certain topics, to more fully address the psychological aspects before moving on to the next topic, though some of those topics may be addressed in her other parenting book, the Powerful Proactive Parent’s Guide to Present Parenting. However, the material serves as an introduction to the topic in the most fundamental ways and places appropriate emphasis on the need for routines for children and getting out of our own way as parents to ensure we are giving our children what they truly need to flourish into healthy, happy, and well-adjusted individuals.

Mary Swan-Bell

5.0 out of 5 stars Must. Read. For. Parents!!

Reviewed in the United States on June 8, 2020

This is a must read for parents. Practical, common-sense advice and real life examples from a parenting expert. This book is so valuable. You’ll feel like you’ve just spent a weekend at a parenting seminar!

Celso

5.0 out of 5 stars Life saver!

Reviewed in the United States on July 17, 2020

I LOVE this book! This book helped me soo much! I’m so grateful that I found it! It’s an easy read and you gain so much from it! I highly recommend purchasing!

Alexandra Antipa

5.0 out of 5 stars Useful guide for parents!

Reviewed in the United States on July 31, 2021

A useful, comprehensive guide on how to become more confident as a parent. Written by Emma Grant, a parenting expert, it delivers a tested routine, which will help you raise a child who is healthy, happy and well-adjusted.

As the mother of a four-year old, I am always on the lookout for parenting books that help me raise my daughter in the best way possible. This book introduced me to the “U URSELF Routine”, helping me structure my daughter’s time in a healthy and efficient manner. It also allowed me to set limits and no longer say yes to everything. The result? More time to spend with my child, saying goodbye to that pestering mom guilt.
The author offers valuable insight on how to handle daily parenting trials, without losing your confidence. She delivers a reliable plan of action to follow, highlighting the fact that a child’s misbehavior is often an indicator of an underlying issue. By implementing a routine, you can minimize these issues and work on removing them altogether. She goes on to emphasize the importance of having a routine, especially if we want our children to grow into emotionally-healthy adults.
I believe this guide is particularly useful during these trying times, when our kids have to spend so much time at home. For me, the author’s approach to parenting was interesting, and I think parents with kids of any age might benefit from it.

This is a great parenting guide, and it is easy to see how the author poured her heart and soul onto the page. It will help you create a routine for your little one and subsequently improve your relationship. Parents can benefit from this thought-provoking book, finding useful advice on how to create structure and raise their children with more confidence.

THE POWERFUL BOOK REVIEWS


Alexandra Antipa

5.0 out of 5 stars Proactive approach to parenting!

Reviewed in the United States on July 31, 2021

A book that will make your life as a parent so much easier, as it delivers practical advice on how to deal with parental burnout and stay in control, without turning into the controlling parent you promised yourself never to become.
This was my second read from Emma Grant and it was equally interesting. How often do we judge children according to our behavior? And what about all those times when we think that we are “bad parents”? The author busts a lot of the misconceptions about modern parenting, showing us a way to replace all the drama with love and laughter.
Here we have a guide on present parenting, a concept which I love. She includes a wealth of exercises and techniques we can use as parents, including the “worry buster”, allowing us to escape of all the stress and guilt that come with raising children nowadays. Instead, she proposes a proactive approach, one in which we learn to be more present, and share moments of joy with our children.
Drawing from her experience as a childminder, parenting coach, and hypnotherapist, the author highlights the idea that, as parents, we have the power to positively influence our children. She suggests tactics we can rely on to become more confidence and in control, but without being a controlling parent. Do you know the expression “go with the flow”? I think this is the main message of this book.
If you want to raise happy and healthy children, you should definitely consider reading this book. Filled with practical advice and useful solutions, it delivers a proactive approach to parenting, reminding parents that there are better ways to handle our children’s behavior than forceful discipline. Last, but not least, it teaches us that living in the present brings a lot of benefits, both for the parent and the child.

Mary Swan-Bell

5.0 out of 5 stars Great!

Reviewed in the United States on April 21, 2021

An excellent read filled with common sense advice for parents and grandparents alike. A great gift for the new parents in your life

Suz F

5.0 out of 5 stars Just what I needed.

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on September 4, 2020

Verified Purchase

I bought this book because I needed to find a way of avoiding the stressful situations that erupted from what seemed like nothing. It is so easy to be reactive when life is so busy and I wanted to find out more about the proactive approach to parenting. The book didn’t disappoint. It gives easy to understand advice on how to coach the behaviour we want rather than managing it through discipline. I found it invaluable in helping me to avoid misunderstandings and we’ve all benefitted from following the exercises that help us to be more mindful and live in the moment. A highly-recommended, worthwhile read.

gill

5.0 out of 5 stars Clear, informative, achievable guidelines for parenting.

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 14 September 2020

It seems so simple now – that rather than reacting to your child’s behaviour, you become proactive at managing any potential conflicts before they arise.
The beauty of this book is that it takes this seemingly complex notion – that of somehow being able to predict how your child will behave – and makes it simple to enact.
Through helping you create clear lines of communication with your child, and flagging up the odd pitfall we all can fall into, the author takes us on a step by step journey to creating a more peaceful home environment, and happier children – and parents – all around.
A great, easy to understand read with a positive message and fun exercises.

Shelflife

5.0 out of 5 stars A must read!

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 17 September 2020

The Powerful Proactive Parents Guide to Present Parenting encourage parents to take actions of their child needs, movements and emotions. This guide focuses on the parent’s behaviour and how this can affect the behaviour of children. We should lead by example and influence them with good behaviour as our kids will follow us as role models. I would describe this book as inspirational and written with common sense and no feeling of being condescending towards the reader at all.
A well written book that will help parents to be more proactive and to have a positive influence on their children.

Rhiannon t.

5.0 out of 5 stars The most important book you’ll read this year

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 30 August 2020

I ordered this book during lock down and had a lot of time to read through it. There are so many things I didn’t think of for parenting my children. I thought my daughter was ‘acting up’ (which she never used to do, it started just after lock down). I feel like I’ve learnt so much and genuinely feel proactive as opposed to reactive. Was a pleasure to read this book.

More Information:
To schedule an interview with the author email em@emmagrantauthor.com

INTERVIEWS

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: